Week one of classes

First week of classes is finished.  Interesting difference from American university, classes have “coordinators.”  My history class is the only course I’m taking that has just one professor/lecturer.  The other classes are being taught by at least four different lecturers.  But one person is allocated to organize the course and does the bulk of the lectures.

On Wednesday evening, I decided to go out with some friends.  Good thing didn’t have class until noon on Thursday.  After said class, went to the beach for a little bit and  I got some Hokey Pokey ice cream.  It’s a New Zealand creation.  Honey ice cream with chunks of butterscotch.  Absolutely delicious.

Thursday evening was unforgettable.  Around 11p, we headed out.  My flatmate with his guitar and clarinet, someone else with a bongo drum, and someone with a painting he found in the trash and was going to modify it.  We sat down on Queen by Victoria and the guys just started jamming, improvising, playing requested songs.  The clarinet got passed around and we each tried our hand at it.  I had such a fun time attempting to get notes out of it and improvising with the much more experienced guys.  As we were doing this, people walked by cheering, some would sit and join in drawing. We found a hubcap and had that sitting out where some people threw in coins.  There were a couple of local guys that stuck with us almost the whole time.  It was so exciting to be there and just go with the flow with whatever was happening around, creating music, watching the art develop on the painting.  This went on until about 2a.  Then we went back to the flat to drop off the instruments.  A few of us went out to a young bar called Cassettes, just off Queen.   Needless to say, I am a bit sore and tired today, but it’s the happiest I’ve been this whole time here.

This weekend, I have plans to take day trips on Saturday and Sunday with the Canoe Club.  Many pictures will be taken and hopefully I’ll learn how to successfully roll a kayak.

About Kris

In my third year of college. Originally from the metro Detroit area, my home university is Albion College. But this blog has been created to document my adventures while studying in Auckland, New Zealand. Mail Contact: Kris Polk Flat 3D/3 8 Mount St. Auckland 1010 New Zealand
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week one of classes

  1. Justin says:

    I NEED some Hokey Pokey ice cream… right now.

    also, i hope there is some street jamming when I come, because that sounds super fun. Glad you are having a blast babe! xoxo

  2. Ginger says:

    Have fun with the kayak rolling. Perhaps you can teach me how when you get back next summer!

Leave a Reply

